Administration Advisory, SSP & Portfolio Attendance & Nurse Attending Hillside STEAM Academy 2018-19 Bell Schedule Counselor’s Corner CTE Pathways Dress Code School Accountability Report Card Success Academy SVUSD Parent Rights Yearbook
Teacher Webpages 6th Grade English Department Math Department Physical Education Department Science Department Social Studies Department Technical Arts Visual and Performing Arts Links for Teachers
Community Resources PTSA Support Hillside
Promotion Information Google Calendar
Common Core Standards Testing and Accountability M.O.H. Hawks
Accelerated Reader 8th Grade Interdisciplinary Digital Portfolio (IDP) Counselor's Corner Library Clubs Spirit Days Teen Assist WOW weeks
Principal's Message

Per. 2 EL Support II

Agenda

Tuesday, December 12 - Read A Long Walk to Water, chapters 13 & 14.  Write summary paragraph.

Monday, December 11 - Read A Long Walk to Water, chapters 12.  Write summary paragraph.

Monday, December 4 - Homework.  Combining sentences worksheet.  A Long Walk to Water: Chapter 7.

Friday, December 1 - Reader's Theatre - pages 37 & 38.

Thursday, November 30 - Homework, Mobymax Language lesson, Read Theory, run-on sentences worksheet.

A Long Walk to Water Chapter 5. Start writing summary of Chapters 1- 5

Tuesday, November 28 - Homework.  Run-on sentences worksheet.  A Long Walk to Water: Chapter 3 & 4.

Monday, November 27 - Homework.  Run-on sentences worksheet.  A Long Walk to Water: Chapter 2.

Friday, November 17 - Perform pages 5 &6 of A Long Walk to Water.

Thursday, November 16 - Mobymax language, Read Theory, homework.  A Long Walk to Water - finish Chapter one and write summary paragraph.

Tuesday, November 14 - Mobymax language, Read Theory, homework.

Monday, November 13 - Check out A Long Walk to Water.  Discuss background information and start reading Chapter One.

Thursday, November 9 - Silent reading & update book log.  Character paragraph.  Turn in sentence fragment worksheets. Mobymax Language lesson and ReadTheory quizzes.

Tuesday, November 7 - Silent reading & update book log.  Character paragraph.  Sentence fragment worksheet.

Monday Nov 6 - Silent reading & update book log.  Character paragraph.  Sentence fragment worksheet.

Friday November 3 - Straight Up Reality Improv

Thursday, November 2 - Silent reading and update reading log.  Journal paragraph on setting. Finish sentence fragment worksheet. Mobymax language lesson and ReadTheory quizzes.

Tuesday, October 31 - Silent reading and update reading log.  Journal paragraph on setting. Sentence fragment worksheet.

Monday, October 30 - Silent reading and update reading log.  Journal paragraph on setting.

Friday, October 27 - Theatre warm-up games, Reader's Theatre, and Zombie Chairs.

Thursday, October 26 - Silent reading.  Update reading log and write reading summary in journal. Picture sentence assessment.  Mobymax Language & ReadTheory quizzes.

Tuesday, October 24 - Silent reading.  Update reading log.  Evaluate descriptive sentences.

Monday, October 23 - Silent reading.  Little House in the Big Woods - reading strategy and summary paragraph. 

Friday, October 20 - Watch "All Summer in a Day" & compare to short story.

Thursday, October 19 - Silent reading.  MobyMax.  ReadTheory.  Short story setting paragraph.  

Tuesday, October 17 - Silent reading.  Short story and notes on setting. ADEPT testing.

Monday, October 16 - Silent reading.  Short story and notes on setting. ADEPT testing.

Friday, October 13 - Finish paragraphs and Mobymax.

Thursday, October 12 - Silent reading.  Revise paragraph and turn in final draft on Google Classroom.  Mobymax language lesson.  

Tuesday, October 10 - Silent reading, journal, table discussion, paragraph.

Monday, October 9 - Silent reading, journal, table discussion, paragraph.

Friday, October 6 - Silent reading, journal, table discussion.

Thursday, October 5 - Silent reading, journal, table discussion.  Mobymax Language and Literature skills.  Revise paragraph. Homework.  Read-aloud.

Tuesday, October 3 - Silent reading, journal, table discussion.  Paragraph summary. 

Monday, October 2 - Silent reading, journal, table discussion.  Mobymax Reading Skills Literature. 

Friday, September 29 - ComedySportz! Paragraph on appropriate classroom behavior.

Thursday, September 28- Silent reading and share main idea.  Vocabulary.  Mobymax.  Reading / writing for central idea.

Tuesday, September 26 - Silent reading. Vocabulary. Water unit: Reading for central idea. 

Monday, September 25 - Silent reading.   Scholastic book flyer. Vocabulary. Water unit: Reading for central idea. 

Wednesday, September 20 - Silent reading.  Mobymax.  Homework.

Tuesday, September 19 - Silent reading.  How to define definitions. Science vocabulary.

Monday, September 18 - Silent reading.  Finish "Dog Man" write response.

Friday, September 15 - Improvisation vocabulary, TED video, and notes.  Improvisation games.

Thursday, September 14 - Silent reading.  Vocabulary quiz.  Finish "Dog Man" summary paragraph. Mobymax. Homework.

Tuesday, September 12 - Silent reading.  Review vocabulary.  Annotate and write summary of "Dog Man" article.

Monday, September 11 - Silent reading.  Vocabulary.  Discuss visualizing, read "Dog Man" article.  Take quiz and journal what you visualize.

Friday, September 8 - Theatre warm-up and Dr. Seuss pantomime.

Thursday, September 7 - Mobymax language lesson, Newsela article quiz and write.

Wednesday, September 6 - Silent reading.  Practice restating writing prompts.  Finish homework.

Tuesday, September 5 - Finish "Bus Stop" performances.  Read Newsela article and take quiz.  Practice restating the prompt.

Friday, September 1 - Drama Club information. Pantomime: read textbook pages 20-25 & 29, watch videos, perform "Bus Stop."

Thursday, August 31 - Newsela quiz, Mobymax language lesson, vocabulary quiz and paragraph.  Homework support. Read Aloud.

Tuesday, August 29 - Read Newsela article.  Review vocabulary on Quizlet.  Practice reading strategies with Newsela article.

Monday, August 28 - Scholastic book orders.  Read Newsela article.  Discuss how to identify main idea and supporting details.

Friday, August 25 -  Pageant of the Masters tableau video and Peter Pan short story video. Perform tableaux.

Thursday, August 24 - Read Newsela article and take quiz.  Review and complete homework assignments.  Mobymax Language lesson.  Individual reading.  Log onto Aeries.

Tuesday, August 22 - Read Newsela article.  Review Classroom Management Plan.  

Monday, August 21 - Read Newsela article.  Complete reading and writing assessments. 

Friday, August 18 - What is Theatre? textbook and discussion. Presentation warm-ups.

Thursday, August 17 - Presentations and assessments.

Wedesday, August 16 - Welcome and get to know your classmates!